Speed dating leicestershire uk

The Domesday Book of 1086, records that Atherstone was held by Countess Godiva. Mary’s Chapel in Atherstone dates from the early 12th century when the monks of Bec made a donation of 12 acres (4.9 ha) to a house of friars and hermits, later referred to as "Austin friars".According to Nichols, the chapel was granted to Henry Cartwright in 1542, then left abandoned and neglected until 1692 when Samuel Bracebridge settled a yearly sum for the parson of Mancetter to preach there every other Sunday in the winter season After this, St.Local sheep farmers and cattle graziers supplied wool and leather to local tanners and shoemakers (an industry that continued until the 1970s), while metalworkers, locksmiths and nailers fired their furnaces with local coal and the alemakers supplied thirsty palates on market days.The surviving inventories from 16th century Mancetter provide a fascinating glimpse into Atherstone’s Elizabethan merchants and traders, before the town was economically overshadowed by the bustling cities of Coventry and Birmingham.Schnebbelie in 1790 prompted Nichols to assert that "the new tower provides a good effect".

Atherstone has a long history dating back to Roman times.The Coventry Canal and a series of eleven locks runs through the town, as does the West Coast Main Line railway.Atherstone has its railway station on this line, with an hourly service 7 days a week to both London and Crewe via Stafford and Stoke.Mary’s Chapel seems to have experienced something of a revival.Its square tower being rebuilt in the fashionable "Gothic" style in 1782.

Leave a Reply